NYC Photowalk

Statue of Liberty

Statue of Liberty

Adorama sponsors great classes. Had a chance to photowalk lower Manhattan today with Joe Dimaggio. I took a winter NYC workshop with Joe 1 1/2 years ago, and thoroughly enjoyed it. Although… there is A LOT of walking.  I think the group of 19 of us covered about 10 miles today. Started at Castle Clinton at 8:00am in Battery Park and ended at the foot of the Brooklyn Bridge. Hit Liberty Island, Ellis Island, Wall Street, Trinity Church, and a bunch of random streets in-between. I’m beat.

Legs are aching a bit, but as I run through the images from the day I’m amazed that I have the opportunity to take them. It’s incredible to capture with such clarity, the world around us. Some of the shot os Lady liberty give me the chills. In 1922, my Grandfather came across the Atlantic from Ireland alone. My Dad & Grandmother followed in 1926, and bypassed Ellis, but they all sailed past the Statue. So, while she’s a symbol of freedom to those around the world, this lady holds a bit of a special place in my heart.

And up close she doesn’t disappoint.  I’ll be posting a bunch of photos over this week to my website, so check ’em out and give me feedback. Hope you enjoy them as much as I do.

Night. Night.

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

