The Thing About Photography

Joe Dimaggio NYC It’s been about a year that I started to get really serious about taking photographs. While I tinkered a bit in the past, I finally hunkered down and decided to pursue this art, and see where it would take me. 365 days ago I was walking through the Great Redwood forests, planting my feet in the Pacific Ocean, and learning about f-stops, shutter speeds and light at my first photoworkshop.

During that time I’ve taken more workshops, gone out on my own, chased my family~ including my poor dog Mocha, around the house with a camera and lens affixed to my face, all with the intention of creating the ‘perfect image.’

The one thing that I’ve learned during this time is that photographers as a bunch are really terrific. I’ve never met a group of people, collectively, that are so willing to share what they know and “pay-it-forward.” Ask a question, get an answer~ ask another, get another. There never seems an end to the patience and knowledge sharing I’ve been privileged to experience, and as I grow and meander down this path, I now find myself in a position to share what I’ve learned with those who are following in that journey of discovery. It’s an awesome interaction, and I truly appreciate the guidance and insight thats been offered and shared with me by those I’ve met.

So if you are just starting out, find yourself some mentors-attend a workshop, and ask questions, I can guarantee that you will be shocked by how willingly people give of themselves to help you improve and grow as an artist.

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

