New York Times Introduces LENS

In a few of Joe McNally’s workshops and books he’s mentioned anyone who wants to be a “professional photographer” should seek mental help. The road is hard, uncertain, and not for the faint of heart…

The New York Times launched a new blog this week called LENS and its goal is to go behind the scenes of the Times’ photographers and show us what its like through their eyes. Well after watching this video of the press pool taking a 5 second Photo Op of President Obama and his staff in the Oval Office… I must tell you I harbor no dreams of being part of the press photography pool. Herded like animals through the door, shoot, shoot, then herded out another door (I hope my ISO was set right, I hope my White Balance was set right, did I flip back to Aperature Priority after my son’s soccer shoot????? I hope… I hope…) just seems like a very painful way to get a picture.

In reading the blog comments I thought someone had a truly brilliant idea, why doesn’t the white house just hire one photographer for shots like that and then send it out… Hmmm, worth thinkin’ about.

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

