The Magic of the Digital Darkroom

I love technology. Just Love it, love it, LOVE IT! It offers you a freedom to create and explore, and hit “Don’t Save” if you don’t like the result of your madness. Take for instance the two images below. This is one of my last shots of Wanchese Harbor in the Outer Banks. The sun had pretty much come up, the light was hardening by the second, the scene was racing toward flatness, but it still had a bit of character too it. The first shot is “Straight Out of Camera” (the only thing I did was add the black border). The second shot I adjusted in Lightroom (deepened the blue sky, as I knew I would convert to White & Black~ deeper blue goes a nice black in the conversion), opened in Photoshop CS3, clicked Silver Efex Pro (which adds a layer mask converting the image to White & Black), final step was to adjust the “Structure” and “Contrast” sliders to finish the image. Took all of 10 minutes, and I think added a great deal more drama to the image.

You decide…Wanchese Harbor- SOOCWanchese White & Black

2 Responses to “The Magic of the Digital Darkroom”

  1. I love both and I agree with you “I love technology” 🙂

  2. Astonishing. Although I love photography, I am a real amateur. Only today did I install Photoshop Elements on my MacBook. I’m eager to learn.

Leave a Reply

