The Joy of Jumping… and Screaming :-)

One of the great things about photographing your own kids is capturing a little bit of their personality in a tiny slice of time. After our quick serious poses (“look at the sun, think deep thoughts…” ~ See that image below), I asked Tristan to “have fun”- so what does he do… starts jumping up as high as he can and screaming at the top of his lungs.

So what do I do… click, click, click.
Tristan
I think the flash had trouble keeping up. I know years from now I’ll look back on these images and smile. While we only had about 10 minutes, I’m thankful I brought along all “da gear.”

As I look at this image, I could probably punch it a bit more in post using CS3, but for some reason I’m going to leave it alone… as is… this 1/500 of a second will live forever frozen in this image, and I’m eternally greatful for that (although when Tristan is 18, I’m sure he’ll disagree).

The only difference in gear from these images and the more formal portrait below, is this was shot through a 5 in 1 reflector (using the white “see thru” portion of the 5 in 1, the tri-grip is on my Santa list along with a Really Right Stuff BH-55, and Gitzo tripod). SB-900 with full cut  CTO was pushed right up against it and fired from a few feet away.

Ya Gotta love being 6!Catching Air

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

