More Portraits from the “Bug Shoot”

Another shot from the infamous ‘Bug Shoot”.

This one required a bit of work in post, and I’m still not sure I love it- I like the idea, but the execution I think needed a bit more help. I would have liked more fill light on Tristan’s side (the right side) of the image.

One of the on-going challenges of portrait photography is having enough hands to actually assist with the shoot- my wife Kathy is off camera left with the Lastolite Ezybox, I’m shooting and obviously the boys are in front of the lens… hmmm, need another pair of hands to either work another flash or hold a reflector to bounce some fill into the picture. I was thinking of bringing a light stand and a clamp, but glad I didn’t with the bug brigade out in force and sucking blood at a furious rate, would never have had the time to fiddle with one. I think Joe McNally said it best in one of our workshops “Work with what you have, and live to fight another day…” true words of wisdom, and this shoot was living proof that we had to run and gun and get out of there before we became eaten alive.

In post I actually processed this as a single frame HDR file, then using Nik Color Efex pro I used a few filters to desaturate the image and bring it back into line (the HDR processing left a lot of noise in the shadows). All in all not a bad “capture” but I look forward to a bugless night and the opportunity to compose this one correctly. 🙂

Enjoy!

Tristan & Aidan (c) Joseph Rowland 2009

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

