Grucci Fireworks! Ohhh… Ahhhh…

On certain nights after the Long Island Ducks play, the famous Grucci’s put on a display of fireworks over the center field wall. They don’t last that long, but as usual, whenever the Gruccis are involved, it’s about quality, not quantity.

There is something about fireworks that I think touches the “kid” in all of us. My youngest Aidan watched (way past his bedtime) and “oohhed and ahhhed” with everyone else and loved the “rainbows in the sky”.

I was busy playing with my shutter release cable. Since this was my first time shooting “real fireworks”, I was furiously trying to capture the spectacle while remembering a few of the pointers I have read:

1) Try and place something of interest in the foreground so the fireworks have an anchor (didn’t really get an opportunity to do this being that it WAS over the center field wall)

2) Shoot at f/11 for 2-3 seconds (I did that, and also varied between 1-3 seconds)

3) Have fun!

One thing I wished I had done was switched to my widest lens- the Nikon 12-24mm. These were all shot with the 24-70mm, and unfortunately, the framing wasn’t exactly what I wanted and I didn’t have enough time to switch out… so next time I go, I’ll go wider and we’ll see what happens.

In post, I used a curve layer adjustment to lighten the outfield, and a few different NIK filters to pop the color in the fireworks a bit more (Contrast Color Range… quickly becoming a favorite)- that’s about it. One neat addition to these shots is the moon- its center frame and shining brightly through the trail of smoke and haze left by the exploding mortars. Great stuff!

Enjoy!

Fireworks I (c) Joseph Rowland 2009Fireworks II (c) Joseph Rowland 2009Fireworks III (c) Joseph Rowland 2009

One Response to “Grucci Fireworks! Ohhh… Ahhhh…”

  1. Nice work. Love to see any other great firework shots you have captured.
    Phil Grucci
    Firrworks by Grucci

Leave a Reply

