High Key Magic- The Bees Have Arrived

So a few weeks ago my Alien Bee Busy Bee package arrived. Unfortunately the Bees sat in their boxes due to work, and general family conflicts… until Saturday (see, rainy days are GOOD!).

I’ve always liked High-Key lighting- that white, crisp background, and crystal clear subject popping off and out of the frame. I’ve been anxious to get the “studio” set up in the basement and see what I could do. Enlisting the boys as models we went to work… Over the next few days I’ll be posting the results.

First, the lighting diagram:

High Key Lighting (c) Joseph Rowland 2009

This was a 3 light set-up, 2 Alien Bee 800’s pointed at the background, and 1 AB800 with a medium Softbox at the front (slight camera right) of the subject. I used a synch cord to fire the Softbox which in turn fired the background lights. I need a cable for my Pocketwizards which I ordered yesterday- but no issues were encountered with this set-up. Worked well.

The Results:

Aidan: High Key (c) Joseph Rowland 2009

Enjoy!

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

