Storytelling…

When asked, I sometimes struggle trying to convey how I compose an image. Looking through the viewfinder, things tend to fall into, well, “place…”

I think of the story behind the frame.

To many this is just a farmhouse, with some pretty trees and a swing.

I see it in broader terms… I think of childhood, and the countless hours spent swinging from that tire… and the laughs and giggles that surely ensued while doing so. I think of gathering those leaves on the ground in a big pile and running full tilt and leaping into them… and repeating.. and repeating. I think of balancing on that rock wall and pretending if you fall… you fall off the earth. I think of the times and things that old house could speak about if it had a mouth. Of the days gone by, the fierce storms, icy winters and warm spring days that rested themselves on its wood planks.

I see an awful lot in this image that whispers to us all.

Enjoy!

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

