Passing Through The Lane…

I’m not a big fan of the Canon vs Nikon debate. I shot with a Canon Rebel, 20D and 40D… then made the switch to a Nikon D3 and one of the main reasons was its low light capability. Not a lot of noise when shooting High ISO’s… and this weekend I put that puppy to the test.

Gymnasiums tend to be light-pits-from-hell. Those ugly greenish lights, mixed with sun pouring through the windows, not to mention a few fluorescents thrown in for good measure. Amazing that the camera actually works and snaps an image. 🙂

One of my favorite things to shoot are my sons (actually, they ARE my favorite things to shoot). And I love “peak action” shots like this one- Tristan was breaking down the court, saw the open man, and telegraphed a nice pass which lead to 2 points a few moments later. Peak action caught- off his feet, hands fully extended, ball flying through mid-air, his eyes sharply focused on his team mate whose outstretched right palm can be seen on the left of the frame.. I just love this stuff… I really do.

3 Responses to “Passing Through The Lane…”

  1. The right solution to this of course is to come a few hours before the game and light the gym with your studio strobes.

    Actually, in all seriousness, I’ve contemplated this same seen in my home town, which has the worst gym light of anywhere. The problem isn’t just that there isn’t enough light, or that it’s the wrong color — also, its coming from directly overhead – that makes for very unflatterning light on faces.

    I haven’t tried this, but maybe 2 or 3 strategically mounted remote SB-900’s would make a dramatic difference.

    Looks like you have a ray of sunshine in that picture. Did you try to use that? I might have exposed for that patch of sun, then wait for some action happen right at that point. Might make a very dramatic shot.

  2. sorry, I forgot part of my post!

    Good shot… and I think action shots suit you! I’ll bet the best sports photogs were great landscape photographers first!

  3. Ron: was thinking of taking the strobist approach with 2 SB-900’s but theya re pretty strict about the kids coming in and out of this gym- so no time to set up- but would love to give that a shot.. string some flashes up with some gaffer tape 🙂

Leave a Reply

