Tolkien Realized…

I think J.R.R. Tolkien would have really enjoyed Yosemite. Its bigger than life landscape, deep thick woods, winding paths, flowing rivers would conjure up Middle Earth I am sure. Standing in the shadow of Bridalveil Falls, I truly felt that Elrond was a whisper-breath a way from me. There is a density of life in these woods… the trees, the moss, the vines… even the water seems to pulse with life. Awhile back I took an image from Vermont and named it The Path to Rivendell after the legendary elf-city in Tolkien’s books. There was something abou the light and airy nature of that image that just lent itself to that name.

I’m working on a name for this image in a similar Tolkienesque-vein… Thinking “Galadriel’s Path” has a nice ring to it… Whattya think?  Enjoy!

2 Responses to “Tolkien Realized…”

  1. I see your point. It is amazing how light can trigger the imagination, both in the writer and the photographer. I think I see gollum hidden there on the far right, just behind that rock…

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Photo Blog Entries February 3, 2011 | CafeBeyond - February 3, 2011

    […] Tolkien Realized… I think J.R.R. Tolkien would have really enjoyed Yosemite. Its bigger than life landscape, deep thick woods, winding paths, flowing rivers would conjure up Middle Earth I am sure. Standing in the shadow of Bridalveil Falls, I truly felt that Elrond was a whisper-breath a way from me. There is a density of life in […] […]

Leave a Reply

